The Art of Fangirling

May 18, 2013 § Leave a comment

hehehehIf you haven’t heard of the term ‘fangirl’ before, then you need to get on the Internet more. There are some pretty good definitions on Urban Dictionary, but these are my favourites:

  • A female who has overstepped the line between healthy fandom and indecent obsession.
  • A rabid breed of human female who is obsessed with either a fictional character or an actor. Similar to the breed of fanboy. Fangirls congregate at anime conventions and livejournal. Have been known to glomp, grope, and tackle when encountering said obsessions.

And the definition of ‘fandom':

  • The community that surrounds a tv show/movie/book etc. Fanfiction writers, artists, poets, and cosplayers are all members of that fandom. Fandoms often consist of message boards, livejournal communities, and people.
  • A kingdom of fans.

You get the general picture. Although there are some pretty extreme fangirls out there (I’m looking at you, One Directioners and Beliebers), most of us are alright – and actually, I think everyone is a fangirl to some degree. I mean, even the Queen is, right? She adores corgis! Being a fangirl is just a way to express how much we love something.

I’m in quite a lot of fandoms, like anybody else – John Green, Harry Potter, Supernatural, the Avengers, The Hunger Games, Lord of the Rings, Divergent, Batman, Sherlock, Being Human, Merlin, The Walking Dead, Disney, Les Mis…the list is pretty endless. I have also had some pretty bad fangirling moments, my top three namely being:

  1. Obsessing over Joey Richter (emails, tweets, a Twitter account, two Tumblrs, letters, announcing we were going to get married, etc.) for nine months straight. My mum still likes to bring him up occasionally to embarrass me.
  2. Leaping through corridors and classrooms of my school and yelling at people when they get a Harry Potter reference wrong.
  3. Crying over Supernatural, calling Lucifer my baba, making the rest of my family sit down and watch episodes, obsessing over Destiel…

It sounds really bad when I write it down like that. And maybe it is, considering I spend a lot of my time walking into a room, clutching my chest and exclaiming “MY FEELS ARE ALL ON THE FLOOR ASDFGHJKLLEFRHEIUCOAPOEPDVNISER”. But hey; isn’t obsessing over something fictional or unobtainable better than getting high and pregnant? There are worst things us teens could be doing.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Art of Fangirling at Thoughts Then Words.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

